Vacation

Today I got in the car and left two little monsters at home. I did squeeze in an early three mile run though.

022030

I snapped some pictures in the car.

122124

134135

Crazy multi-colored ice cream place that I need to keep in mind for later.

138

We had dinner at the Sign of the Mermaid.

143144

It is a kitschy local place in an old house.

145146

They had an interesting imported beer selection. This was a dark German beer that was really good. 

148

We had clams and muscles in garlic butter broth to start. They were delicious.

152

We both had salads and J had French Onion soup. He said it was the best French Onion soup he has ever had.

156157

The Lady Wellington for J which is lobster, shrimp, and scallops baked in phyllo dough.

159

I had shrimp stuffed with spinach and goat cheese.

161

J and I both give the Sign of the Mermaid two big thumbs up.

155

After this massive amount of eating, we walked around and explored the area around the hotel.

164165

167168

170172

In honor of the Fitness Friday link-up, how do you stick with your exercise routine and eat healthy while on vacation?

I plan on running most days while we are here because running by the beach is such a treat. We also packed healthy snacks for the car ride and the beach.

Fitness Friday Blog Hop

14 thoughts on “Vacation

  1. Hi Dina, I found you from Fitness Friday over on Jill's site. I hope you enjoy your vacation. While I'm away I usually keep active by walking more, even if I'm just visiting family. I'm hoping to come up with a plan of adding more for my next trip. I'm less hungry when I travel so I usually don't have to worry about the eating.

  2. We stayed in a condo for vacation, so eating wasn't that big of a change from home. We went to the grocery and picked up all of our favorites. We don't go out to eat a lot at home, mostly because we have 3 small children (5 and under) — major handful at a restaurant!

  3. Lovely photos and the stuffed shrimp sound delicious. Healthy eating on vacation is tough. We try to find hotels with a gym, we run while on vacation (new places to run is a vacation in itself), I bring my breakfast food and snacks. For dining out I either splurge on an entree or dessert. Never both. Thanks for linking up this week!

  4. I love going to the beach. And they are easier runs too… just because it's so beautiful – you're paying more attention to the scenery than your run. I plan for vacation eating/fitness all the time. I usually only get about 1/2 of the things accomplished, but I think that's better than none. It doesn't help my husband is standing there saying… But – we're on *vacation* – of course you deserve it!

  5. My husband is like that too. He's like live a little. I think I generally have a good balance between healthy and "splurging", I pretty much eat what I want but mostly want healthy foods.

Leave a Reply

