Clean Eating

I picked up a few magazines at the book store this weekend. One I had never read before called Clean Eating. I’ve been in a bit of a food rut lately, which bothers J much more than it bothers me, and was glad to find a magazine filled with healthy recipes that actually looked like I would want to eat them.

The clean eating concept is intriguing, I do not know a lot about it but have perused a few of the cookbooks. I do not believe in being on a diet but the principles laid out in the beginning of the magazine seemed reasonable. From page six of the April/May edition:

“The soul of clean eating is consuming food in its most natural state, or as close to possible.”

The first recipe I decided to try was the Almond, Bean, & Grain Burgers with Strawberry Shallot Sauce. Having thyroid disease, I am always looking for veggie burger recipes that do not contain soy. The strawberry sauce was the most interesting part of the burgers but they did hold together well unlike other recipes I have tried. I added a side of roasted asparagus with olive oil and a bit of salt. The burger was pretty good but would have been really bland without the sauce.

05 24 11_0378

I am off to watch the season finale of Glee which I know makes me a huge dork.

Where do you find inspiration for healthy meals?

Leave a Reply

