Date Night and a long run

This weekend I not only went out one but both Friday and Saturday night. After the most horrendous week at work, I really needed that. Emily, who I work with and who blogs over at Paisley and Porter, joined me for drinks and appetizers at Bar Louie in Orlando. We ordered a bunch of appetizers that were humongous and very tasty. It was a great way to shake off the work week and have some girl talk which I rarely get because I live in rural Polk County and work in Orlando. 

Saturday morning I went over to my favorite park, Lake Eva in Haines City, and ran a very slow 6.5 miles on a one mile loop. I learned two lessons during this run. The first being it’s getting hot in Florida and I need to get my butt out of bed earlier than 11 to do my long runs and the second being that I need to bring some kind of fuel for runs longer than five miles and/or an hour. I picked up one Luna Protein bar for my run next Saturday but want to experiment with different fuels to see what works best for me. What is your fuel of choice?    

J is a first year law student and is super busy most of the time. I consider myself lucky when he can take a break from studying to take me out on a date. This Saturday he took me to J. Alexander’s, which is ironically in the same plaza as Bar Louie. The meal was very good and the conversation was scintillating. I’m not going to lie, I wore some wedges and may have been walking a bit funny from my run earlier in the day. In my own defense, I can barely walk in shoes that are not sneakers on the best of days.          
                        

Beer
My Guinness.

 

03 19 11_0108
J, his super dirty martini, and jumbo salad.

                                         

03 19 11_0109
Veggie burger and fries.
03 19 11_0107
My jumbo salad.
                                        

It was very tasty and fun. Did you do anything special this weekend?

Leave a Reply

